Ocean Lover Detox Soak

2016-04-23-07.11.06-1.jpg.jpegYou know that feeling you get when something seems to be missing in life but strangely you’ve got everything? I hit that odd sensation sporadically throughout the year but the sunshine peaking pre-summer season, we’ll call it spring, magnifies this bittersweet longing in my soul.

My spirit never feels more at home than anywhere else when I’m in the cool mist of salty waves crashing against the shore. The aromatherapy of fresh mineral scented air alone is enough to make me feel euphoria. Reflections of sunshine off the water creating sweet little dancing shadows along skin… Beams of sun rays off the white hot sand that are sometimes so blinding all you can do is shut your eyes and take in the magic… I miss it all.  I get this homesickness feeling of sorts that can’t be shaken off.

For a quick fix to feed my aching little spirit I’ve created a body cocktail of sorts that eases the longing until my feet hit the blistering sand once more. In a hot bath mix the following:

  • 1/4 Cup Sea Salt: I use a sea salt from the Atlantic in Portugal I purchase at a local health food store. Read about the mental & physical benefits of sea salt here.
  • 1 Tbs Powdered Coconut Milk: Besides the island scent that will take you on an escape, coconut milk is soothing & moisturizing for the skin.
  • 1 Tsp Kukui Oil: I’ve fallen in love with this native Hawaiian oil in the last year. Besides being ultra moisturizing, it’s great for acne, scars & sunburns. My favorite is by Alba Botanica.
  • Essential Oils (of choice)

It’s a soak that’s very soothing for your mind, body & soul. I try to take one of these at least once a week, but if you’re having a stress out moment it’s an amazing quick remedy for some ease. For an added beach vibe bonus I douse my body in extra virgin unrefined coconut oil after drying off.

Peace Sign Up,

-Amanda Machell

2 thoughts on “Ocean Lover Detox Soak

  1. I had never heard of Kukui Oil before today, but we have some local stores that carry Alba Botanica. I am an oil junkie, so I’ll definitely be checking this out. I wish I could go to the beach more often!

    aroseisinbloom.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

